Looking Back - 1966 - Part I

  • Posted on: 23 November 2017
  • By: Ontario District Webmaster

By Waldo Redekop - Ontario District Historian

On page 2 of the 1966 District Directory is an In Memoriam of our past president, Harry Holle (1931-1965), who passed away in June of 1965. The Ontario District established a Barbershopper of the Year award. It was named the Harry B. Holle Memorial Trophy. The first winner of the Harry B. Holle Memorial Trophy, given to the Barbershopper of the Year for the year 1965, was George Shields. A very good picture of George was on page 18 of the 1966 directory and outlined some of the reasons that George was chosen. George was a past Ontario District President, a past International Board Member, the chorus director of the East York Barbershoppers and the Lead in the Canadian Chordsmen.

The Ontario District president was John (Johnny) Cairns and the immediate past president was S. B. (Sid) Pyper who had four sons, one of whom was Don Pyper who is now deceased. In 1966, Don was the Ontario Director of Musical Activities.

The district secretary was Dave Cairns. The district treasurer still was Jack Haughie for the fourth year. Sam S. Gray was the executive vice president and Elmer Down was the second vice president in charge of membership.

The Divisional Vice Presidents were as follows.
Western Division – Wm (Bill) Adams.
Central Division – David Litwiller.
Metro Division – John Parkinson.
Northern Division – Murray Jelley.
Eastern Division – G. R. (Dick) Keirstead.

There were a few pages listing many different committees that the district had. I found it interesting to see that there was a History & Archives Committee that had five members. Their addresses and telephone numbers were listed to allow people to contact them. Unfortunately, as far as I can determine as the current district historian, nothing seems to have been saved by the district.